My 5 for 2009

Ahh. At least this one I will not forget. Going on 6th year already, I’m glad I was able to do this face-to-face with the Calims this week. So, 2009 is almost officially over, and I’m ready to share my top 5s already.

As before, this is our year end review that Kris and I (with her hubby Harv recently joining in), share with each other. It had to be 5 big events (good or bad) that has happened to us.

My previous recorded 5’s are here and here and hopefully I get to document future ones. Only because it gives quite a nice summary, year per year.

Without any further ado, (drum roll please) here’s my 5:

  1. Filipino Dragons Singapore (or FDS) as mentioned in a previous entry. For the first time in my entire life, I’m part of a sports team. One that (for the sports bit) trains hard, competes, loses graciously and wins spectacularly. In relation, there’s the definite weight loss/gaining of muscles/evening of tan, that comes with the love of the sport. But wait, there’s more. Ever since I’ve joined, I’ve upped my social scene with this group who tends to party as hard as we train. Without FDS this year, life would have definitely be less fun.
  2. A project at work where I received a considerable amount of criticisim, attention (both good and bad), rewards and finally appreciation.
  3. Canada did not want me. Neither did Singapore. Just as I was making progress with planning, I went back to square 1.
  4. This year, mostly with FDS, meant meeting loads of new people. But sad – yes, I’m sad – that I also lost a few. Losing in this case, meant losing touch (the lack of proximity really played a part in losing friends who I used to see every so often), or simply letting go of people who used to mean a lot. Of course, there’s the saying people come and go, but what made this a big part of my 2009 was the amount of emotional investment I went through for each of the losses. Much like a break up (maybe even a little worse), there was the feeling of sadness, resentment, betrayal, revenge, losing of trust, to finally giving up. The feeling has now plateau-d to acceptance giving way to civil politeness.
  5. Naiwanan ako ng eroplano. This is definitely my kick-myself-in-the-butt moment. Don’t want to go through the details, but this lack of responsibility caused me money which is a a domino effect to the happenings in the next 4 months of 2010.

2009 was not the best year for me, and I’m excited to get it over and done with, finally. But I am optimistic of the silver lining waiting to happen.

That done, and my blog is alive once again.

Happy New Year, folks!

Leave a Reply

